Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori
Māori Language Commission

The Māori Language Commission was set up under the Māori Language Act 1987 and continues under Te Ture Reo Māori 2016 to promote the use of Māori as a living language and as an ordinary means of communication.

Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori, coordinates the implementation of the Crown’s Māori Language Strategy, Maihi Karauna which promotes, celebrates and encourages more people to learn and speak te reo Māori through regular campaigns, activities and helpful resources. They also support organisations to develop and evaluate their own language plans, whilst also carrying out and commission research to support te reo revitalisation.


This year alongside MET, they are funding scholarships to students who are fluent in Te Reo Māori, and are completing their Master’s and/or PhD degrees.

Organisation Website
For more information on the Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori organisation, visit their website.

MET Application Portal

To apply for Te Taura Whiri scholarship/s, go to the MET application portal