Te Whaiti Nui-a-Toi Land Trust

Te Whaiti Nui-a-Toi Block is Māori freehold land with an area of 3,024 hectares, created by amalgamation order dated 16 January 1974

This order from the Crown joined together thirty-four former blocks of land, the loss of all these individual names eventually resulting in the loss of whānau links to the separate blocks. Today, it is a forested area located in the Whakatāne District and Bay of Plenty Region. The scholarships for Te Whaiti Nui-a-Toi are administered through the Māori Education Trust.

For more information regarding the land block and the trust, visit the Te Whaiti Nui-a-Toi Trust website here.


Te Whaiti Nui-a-Toi Scholarships are available to applicants who are ‘Registered Owners or descendants of Registered Owners,’ or ‘Beneficiaries and descendants of beneficiaries in a Whanau Trust, constituted in terms of Te Ture Whenua Maori Act 1993.’

These are open to Undergraduate and Postgraduate students.


Te Whaiti Nui a Toi Māori Land Trust



Undergraduate applications must be received by

Friday, 31 Haratua (May), 2024 by 4:00pm.


Te Whaiti Nui a Toi Māori Land Trust



Postgraduate applications must be received by

Friday, 30 Paengawhāwhā (April), 2024 by 4:00pm.

Details of the scholarships can be found on our main Scholarship Information page under each of the headings: Undergraduate and Postgraduate, along with the other scholarships that we have on offer for 2024.

Scholarship Information